Death on Gokumon Island (Detective Kindaichi Mysteries) (Paperback)

Death on Gokumon Island (Detective Kindaichi Mysteries) By Seishi Yokomizo, Louise Heal Kawai (Translated by) Cover Image
By Seishi Yokomizo, Louise Heal Kawai (Translated by)
$15.95
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Sep 28 1:18pm
(Mystery)

Description


A fiendish, classic locked room murder mystery, from one of Japan's greatest crime writers, that’s perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware

“An exceptional whodunit... The brilliant and intricate plot will keep readers turning the pages.”  --Publishers Weekly, starred review


“Seishi Yokomizo took a pinch of John Dickson Carr and a dash of Agatha Christie in creating Kosuke Kindaichi, solver of impossible crimes... Kosuke’s arrival [on Gokumon Island] coincides with a string of bizarre and gruesome murders. As deaths mount, the quirky, endearing detective strings together the clues to solve this fiendish puzzle.”  -- Sarah Weinman, New York Times

Detective Kosuke Kindaichi arrives on the remote Gokumon Island bearing tragic news—his friend and fellow soldier, the son of one of the island's most important families has died, on a troop transport ship bringing him back home after the Second World War. But Kindaichi has not come merely as a messenger--with his last words, the dying man warned that his three step-sisters' lives would now be in danger. The scruffy detective is determined to get to the bottom of this mysterious prophesy, and to protect the three women if he can.

As Kindaichi attempts to unravel the island's secrets, a series of gruesome murders begins. He investigates, but soon finds himself in mortal danger from both the unknown killer and the clannish locals, who resent this outsider meddling in their affairs.

Loosely inspired by Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, the sensational second outing of Japan’s most famous detective is perhaps the most highly regarded of all the great Seishi Yokomizo's classic Japanese mysteries.

About the Author


Seishi Yokomizo (1902-81) was one of Japan's most famous and best-loved mystery writers. He was born in Kobe and spent his childhood reading detective stories, before beginning to write stories of his own, the first of which was published in 1921. He went on to become an extremely prolific and popular author, best known for his Kosuke Kindaichi series, which ran to 77 books, many of which were adapted for stage and television in Japan. Death on Gokumon Island is one of Seishi Yokomizo's most highly regarded mysteries. The Honjin Murders, The Inugami Curse and The Village of Eight Graves are also available from Pushkin Vertigo. 

Louise Heal Kawai is the translator of The Honjin Murders, the first book of Seishi Yokomizo’s Kosuke Kindaichi series, as well as Soji Shimada’s Murder in the Crooked House, and Mieko Kawakami’s Ms Ice Sandwich for Pushkin Press. Additionally, she has translated a variety of works from Japanese, including the bestselling The Cat Who Saved Books by Sosuke Natsukawa. Louise is from Manchester, UK and currently resides in Yokohama.

Praise For…


"Seishi Yokomizo took a pinch of John Dickson Carr and a dash of Agatha Christie in creating Kosuke Kindaichi, solver of impossible crimes... Kosuke’s arrival [on Gokumon Island] coincides with a string of bizarre and gruesome murders. As deaths mount, the quirky, endearing detective strings together the clues to solve this fiendish puzzle"
--Sarah Weinman, The New York Times

*One of the best mystery, thriller, and true crime books out in June* --Bookriot

“This fiendish mystery... will appeal to all lovers of the Golden Age of crime fiction”
--Pick of the Week, The Times and Sunday Times Crime Club
 
“A fascinating insight into Japanese culture and behaviour more than 70 years ago”
--Irish Independent
 
“An exceptional whodunit... The brilliant and intricate plot will keep readers turning the pages. Golden age fans will hope for more translations of this gifted author”
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Seishi Yokomizo was the king of the locked-room mystery, and there’s nothing more cut off than an island."
--CrimeReads.com

“A succession of grotesque murders has the endearingly dishevelled Kindaichi forever scratching his head... exposing family rivalries and ancient superstitions which defy outside interference. The truth, when it emerges, is as bizarre as it is chilling”
--Daily Mail


Product Details
ISBN: 9781782277415
ISBN-10: 1782277412
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publication Date: July 5th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Detective Kindaichi Mysteries