Over and Under the Canyon (Hardcover)

Over and Under the Canyon Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Dec 6 12:03pm
(Kids Picture Books)

Description


In this latest book in the acclaimed Over and Under series, a spectacular hike reveals the hidden wonders, rich colors, and layers of wildlife living within a thriving desert slot-canyon.

Over and Under the Canyon takes young readers on a thrilling tour of a desert canyon ecosystem. Over the canyon, the sun scalds the air, baking desert mud to stone. But under the shade of the cliffs hides another world, where bighorn sheep bound from rock to rock on the hillside, roadrunners make their nests in sturdy cacti, and banded geckos tuck themselves into the shelter of the sand. Discover the wonders concealed in the curves of the canyon, the magic of a desert wildflower bloom, and all the unexpected creatures that bring the desert to life.

DISCOVER AMAZING ANIMALS: Kids are endlessly curious about the natural world and the wildly varied animals living in it—and the desert is FULL of amazing and surprising animals!

CAPTIVATING NONFICTION: Like its predecessors, this latest offering in the Over and Under picture book series illuminates the magic of the natural world and its amazing inhabitants by telling the story of one family's hike through a real-world desert ecosystem in lyrical prose and color-drenched illustrations. Even the most reluctant readers will be drawn into a fact-filled story this compelling!

GREAT FOR TEACHING: The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) emphasize learning about animal habitats/biomes in K–2 curriculums, while later grades address topics like food chains, conservation, and endangered species. With a depth of research and an engaging, highly visual narrative, this book is an excellent resource for librarians and primary school educators.

ENCOURAGES ENVIRONMENTAL AWARENESS: Concern for and preservation of the wilderness is an increasingly talked-about topic. This book provides a great, upbeat jumping-off point for discussions of the importance and wonder of our world's natural habitats and ecosystems.

ACCLAIMED AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Kate Messner is an award-winning author whose books for kids have been New York Times Notable, Junior Library Guild, IndieBound, and Bank Street College of Education Best Book selections. In addition to his work on this acclaimed series, Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator and author who regularly contributes to the New York Times and The New Yorker, and he has been awarded a medal from the Society of Illustrators.

Perfect for:

• Parents
• Nature lovers
• Fans of Kate Messner
• Fans of Over and Under the Snow and previous books in the series
• Educators and librarians seeking nonfiction books with STEM content

About the Author


Kate Messner is the award-winning author of Over and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, Over and Under the Pond, The Brilliant Deep, Over and Under the Rainforest, and How to Read a Story, as well as more than a dozen other books for young readers. Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family.

Christopher Silas Neal is the award-winning artist of Over and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, Over and Under the Pond, and Over and Under the Rainforest. His work has been published in a variety of books and magazines and featured on television. He currently lives and works in Brooklyn.

Praise For…


“Once again, Messner’s descriptive imagery with lots of action verbs combines with Neal’s attractive artwork, this time in a range of earthy colors. . . . [A] fine addition to the ongoing series.”-Booklist

“[Over and Under the Canyon] is a wonderful introduction to this habitat and nocturnal and diurnal animals. A great addition to science collections for young readers and where the previous titles are popular.”-School Library Journal

“Messner and Neal add this trek in the canyonlands of the American West to their excellent series . . . With rich and unusual hues, Neal’s illustrations capture the feel of the desert heat. . .”-The Horn Book Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9781452169392
ISBN-10: 145216939X
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 56
Language: English
Series: Over and Under