The Immortalists (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Immortalists Cover Image
$26.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


One summer in late 1960s New York, the four Gold children hear that there's a woman in the neighborhood who will tell you the exact day on which you will die. They find their way to the woman and each await their turn, heading home with new information they're not sure they should trust. The rest of this family saga is told in four parts, one for each of the siblings: Simon, who runs off to San Francisco to live freely as a gay man; Klara, who dreams of being a world-famous magician; Daniel, an army physician looking for safety and security in his work, and Varya, a scientist studying aging and how to reverse or even halt it affects. Each of these stories explores the way in which the knowledge these characters have been given affects the trajectory of their lives, blurring the line between fate and free will, of destiny and choice. At its root it is also about the complicated love that exists between siblings and about the responsibility we feel - or perhaps don't- to the ones we love.  -Vanessa

— From Vanessa's Picks

Description


INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A captivating family saga."--The New York Times Book Review

"You won't be able to put it down."--The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt."--People Magazine (Book of the Week)

"A sprawling, enchanting family saga."--Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children--four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness--sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

About the Author


Chloe Benjamin is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Immortalists. Her first novel, The Anatomy of Dreams, received the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was long listed for the 2014 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. She is a graduate of Vassar College and the M.F.A. in fiction at the University of Wisconsin. She lives with her husband in Madison, WI.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780735213180
ISBN-10: 0735213186
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: January 9th, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English